International Forum for Secular Bangladesh, Finland Committee Formed

News Desk : At a meeting in Finland’s capital Helsinki’s Vapaa-ajattelijat (Finnish Freethinkers’ Association) office on 5 October, the full Committee of International Forum for Secular Bangladesh (IFSB), Finland, was formed. Leaders of several a Finnish secular organisation was present in the event alongside members and leaders of the Finish Bangladeshi community.

Moderated by Dr. Mojibur Doftori, Forum for Secular Bangladesh (FSB) Central Committee President Shahriar Kabir gave a short speech via video highlighting the importance of making the world a secular and humane place by joining hands with like-minded European organisations and fighting extremism. Central Commmittee’s General Secretary Kazi Mukul, IFSB Europe chapter President Tarun Kanti Chowdhury (Sweden) and IFSB Europe chapter Secretary General Ansar Ahmed Ullah (UK) also spoke in the event over video calls. Humanist Association of Finland President Irma Peiponen sent her written greetings to the meeting participants.

From left: Mynul Islam, Ismat-i-Nannu Haque, Esa Ylikoski, Dr. Mojibur Doftori, Najib Murshed (Songram), Pintu Mia, Nahid Morshed (Joy) and Saleh Ahmed Salek. Picture Courtesy: Saifur Rahman (Tintoo)

Meeting participants and Finnish-Bengali community leaders as well as Vapaa-Ajattelijat Trustee Esa Ylikoski also spoke in the event. Speakers highlighted the importance of IFSB’s significance in the current political contexts of Bangladesh, Europe, and rest of the world. They vowed to promote secular humanistic values in Bangladesh, Finland, and the broader world.

The meeting concluded with election of 27-member Executive Committee of IFSB Finland with Dr Mojibur Doftori as President and Mohammad Najib Morshed (Songram) as Secretary General. Among others, officials are Vice-Presidents Saleh Ahmed Salek, Mynul Islam, Ismat-i-Nannu Haque, Nahid Morshed Joy and Pintu Mia, Joint-Secretary Badal Hossain (Masud), Organizing Secretary Mohibul Islam, Treasurer Zahid Hasan Rocky, Office Secretary Saifur Rahman, Press Secretary Kamran Hossain, International Affairs Secretary Belal Ahmed, Information & Research Secretary Abu Darda Babu, Cultural Secretary Tanvir Islam, and IT Secretary Abdul Kuddus. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!